Average High Tide Variation:
1 hour 40 minutes before Aberdeen
Latitude 57º 41'N
Longitude 02º 41'W
Mr James Henderson
Tel: 01261 815544
Fax: 01261 815544
Mob: 07770 646115
Portsoy has both old and new harbours.
Sir Patrick Ogilvie the 8th Earl of Boyndie, decided that the old harbour should be built and it was completed in 1693. It is now the home for the Scottish traditional small boats group and the venue for the Annual Festival.
The new harbour was constructed in 1825 due to ever increasing demand from the herring fishing fleet.
The original harbour, has taken on a new role as the venue for the annual traditional boat festival held every summer.
The harbour extends to 3,800 sq. metres with 200 metres of quay and is protected from the north-west gales by the headland and north pier. The new harbour though more exposed is the larger and berths up to 30 boats and a slipway is available at the east end of this basin.
The users comprise of a mixture of shell fishers and pleasure craft which blend in with the unspoiled area around both harbours.
Portsoy - Population 1850
Set in rugged coastal scenery alongside a wide, sheltered bay, Portsoy was once a busy trading port.
Locally quarried Portsoy Marble was used for two chimney-pieces in the Palace of Versailles and the workshop by the Harbour is open to visits to this picturesque town which has won several awards for skilful restoration of many of its other properties.
The new harbour dries out at low water springs and access to the sea is impossible from most parts at low tide.
Contact with the Harbourmaster is advised for access.
During neap tides movement by shallow drafted boats is possible at most times.
- caravan park
- open air swimming pool
- Post Office