Coronavirus (COVID-19)

View updates on coronavirus and council services. If you are affected and need assistance, please visit Grampian Coronavirus (COVID-19) Assistance Hub.

Area Managers

Aberdeenshire Council is too large to run as a single unit and Scottish Councils were required to bring forward proposals for decentralisation.

Aberdeenshire Council has established six areas within which local decisions will be taken locally by elected Members. Corporate and policy matters will be decided at Council headquarters.

Aberdeenshire's six areas each have an Area Committee, an Area Manager and an Area Management Team.  

angela keithBanff and Buchan Area
Angela Keith
Education and Children's Services
Buchan Area
Amanda Roe
Business Services
Formartine Area
Elaine Brown
Business Services 
Garioch Area
Ann Overton
Education and Children's Services
bruce stewartKincardine and Mearns Area 
Bruce Stewart 
Infrastructure Services
Marr - Janelle Clark Marr Area
Janelle Clark
Infrastructure Services

The Area Manager's job, with the help of the Area Management Team, is to enable the Area Committee to make local decisions and to ensure that these decisions are carried out.

The Council will work with the communities in each area to prepare a Community Plan which reflects local needs and provides input for the Council's policies and programmes. A system of area budgets is under development. Area Committees already disburse local development grants of various kinds.

To ensure that the six areas do not become separate 'mini Councils' every elected Member is a member of an Area Committee and serves on corporate policy committees, and each Area Manager is a member of the Council's Senior Management Team. Each Area Manager is also part of a Council service team with 2 managers in Business Services, 2 in Education and Children Services and 2 in Infrastructure Services. Area Committees are therefore able to influence central policy making within the context of local grass roots requirements.