Banchory Museum

Visit Banchory museum, the gateway to Royal Deeside and learn about the history of Banchory and its most famous son, musician and composer, J. Scott Skinner, the "Strathspey King".

In our collection you will see:

  • Aberdeenshire archaeology
  • Deeside natural history
  • Displays of local culture and traditions

We can also help with genealogy and local history queries and over the winter provide an information point for both visitors and locals.

For more information on our museum please contact us.

Opening times

Christmas period opening times:

Monday 24th December 11am to 2pm
Tuesday 25th December  Closed
Wednesday 26th December  Closed
Thursday 27th December Closed
Friday 28th December 11am to 3pm
Saturday 29th December 11am to 3pm
Sunday 30th December  Closed
Monday 31st December 11am to 2pm
Tuesday 1st January Closed
Wednesday 2nd January Closed
Thursday 3rd January Closed

The Banchory Museum opening times are Monday, Friday and Saturday 11am to 3pm.

Contact the museum

You can contact Banchory museum in writing, by telephone or email:

Banchory Museum
Bridge Street
Banchory
AB31 5SX
Telephone: 01330 823367 
Email: museums@aberdeenshire.gov.uk

View the Banchory Museum location map.

There is limited street parking beside the museum. More spaces are available nearby at the Dee Street car park. 

Help us improve