Coronavirus (COVID-19)

View updates on coronavirus and council services. If you are affected and need assistance, please visit Grampian Coronavirus (COVID-19) Assistance Hub.

Issues with our phones

We are having intermittent issues with our phone lines. We are working with our suppliers to resolve them. If you can't get through please hang up and re-dial. We apologise for any inconvenience caused.

Future proof living (student submission)

This conceptual design award category focuses on innovative solutions to address the specific needs of future generations, such as an ageing population, mobility, social inclusion, health and wellbeing and mixed housing reflecting mixed users and housing typologies.

Entries for this category must be conceptual (not built). 

There are a number of things you should know before you enter the design awards:

Judging criteria

Projects must show exceptional merit and quality to receive an award. In addition to the individual category requirements all entries will be judged on the overarching criteria of:

  • sustainable design - looking at low energy, accessibility and placemaking
  • affordability - cost effective, deliverable design that demonstrate the long-term cost benefit of the design

What to submit

For this category, you will need to provide a supporting statement that must not exceed 300 words and should be included within A1 PDFs. It should clarify how your entry complies with both the overall and category specific judging criteria.

As well as your supporting statement, you will need to submit layout plans and visuals 

Before you submit your entry, ensure that it is in the correct format: 

  • 2 x A1, single sided, landscape orientation
  • PDF format, no crops or bleed

How to submit

The entry period for nominations is now closed.

You can submit your entry online by completing the nomination form and attaching each A1 PDF file individually (the total size of both files should not exceed 25MB).

View the Aberdeenshire design awards privacy notice (pdf 196KB).

Judging process

You will receive an acknowledgement for your entry which will be automatically entered into the judging round taking place in May 2020.

The winners will be announced at an award ceremony in October 2020 with all entrants being invited to attend. There will be a further prize giving at Robert Gordon University (details to be confirmed).

The judging panel for the 2020 awards will comprise:

  • The Chair and Vice Chair of Infrastructure Services Committee
  • The President of the Aberdeen Society of Architects
  • A Senior Casework Officer from Historic Environment Scotland
  • A Scottish Natural Heritage Landscape Policy and Advice Officer
  • A senior lecturer from the Scott Sutherland School of Architecture