Support for people living with dementia

Dementia is an illness that affects the brain. It is most common among older people but can affect people under the age of 65. The four most common types of dementia are:

  • Alzheimer’s disease
  • vascular dementia
  • frontotemporal dementia
  • Lewy body dementia

A diagnosis of dementia may be made by your GP or a Psychiatrist. They will refer you to a Nurse or Link Worker who can provide support to understand your diagnosis and plan for the future.

You may need additional care and support because of your dementia. Our services for older people web page has more information about what support is available.

dementia Aberdeenshire, our website for people living with dementia, is a one-stop shop to quickly find information to help you manage your lifestyle.